kids

Raising Farm kids

Raising farm kids. I knew I wanted to do this from the beginning. When my daughter was very young if anything was wrong, going outside would usually fix it. Kids just crave Something about the outdoors.

Seeing them chase after our ducks puts so much joy in my heart. (Hard for the poor ducks sometimes)

But they just love them! And who wouldn’t want those cuddles.

We raise our animals for eggs and meat. My sweet daughters love for our animals is truly incredible. Yet she understands why we use them for meat and why we take such good care of them.

Currently we have chickens for eggs, ducks for meat, and Rabbits for meat. We have just moved into our house that allows this life style and as winter is about to hit we’ve put a hold on goats lambs and horses until the spring.

we also must have some adorable barn kitty’s.

My 3 year old Daughter collects eggs on her own. I love the responsibility farm life gives to children. I’m not exactly jumping out of bed to open the chicken coop …. but they are.

Both my children will spend hours in the barn and pasture, chasing animals, kicking dirt, it’s amazing how little they need to be happy out there.

All while piles of toys sit inside, some collecting dust…

isn’t it interesting that kids will play with said toy for only 10 minutes sometimes but can spend more than 2 hours uninterrupted outside? With nothing but Gods creations.

I look around at how close they are building homes these days and how much tv is being used. I’m not going to act like my kids don’t watch tv, they do, but we do limit it and they never choose TV over going outside.

Kids need room to roam

My 5 top things for happy kids:

ā€¢ Someone to take them outside

ā€¢ Time, someone to let them stay outside a while, (can be hard when your to do list is calling you inside)

ā€¢ no fuss to keep their clothes clean (invest in a pair of overalls, or just wash whatever they wear out)

ā€¢ You gotta get an Animal to take care of and love on.

ā€¢ Responsibility, a reason for putting your shoes on and getting outside. Some examples would be to collect eggs, feed water said animal, to get vitamin D, fresh air.

it doesn’t have to be complicated.

Leave a comment